top of page

The Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS)

Sunflowers Day Nurseries works in accordance with the 'Early Years Foundation Framework' which forms that basis of the curriculum for children from birth to 5 years. This is a statutory requirement that all nurseries, preschools, childminders and reception classes must follow. Aligning ourselves with the EYFS helps the nursery set the relevant standard of learning, development and care, as well as supporting an integrated approach to early learning and care within the Nursery Setting.

The EYFS is made up of four specific themes:


Our Sunflowers practitioners carefully plan learning and activities through 7 areas of learning ensuring that planning is unique and individual to each child to meet their individual needs.

The 7 areas of learning are split in to three ‘Prime’ areas of learning and four ‘Specific’ areas of learning. The prime areas are important because they lay the foundations for children’s success in all areas of learning and of life:

• Communication and Language
• Personal, Social and Emotional
• Physical

As children grow, the prime areas will help them to develop skills in 4 specific areas. The specific areas provide the range of experiences and opportunities for children to broaden their knowledge and skills:

• Literacy
• Mathematics
• Understanding the World
• Expressive Art and Design

bottom of page